Slavin named NCHC Rookie of the Year

By  | 

MINNEAPOLIS – Adding to his ever-growing list of honors this 2013-14 season, CC's Jaccob Slavin on Thursday was named Rookie of the Year in the National Collegiate Hockey Conference.

The freshman defenseman from Erie, Colo., joined Tiger teammate Eamonn McDermott and eight other players honored with special individual accolades at the NCHC's inaugural awards celebration in Minneapolis.

McDermott, a senior defenseman and Colorado College's team captain, was named recipient of the league's first Sportsmanship Award.

Slavin, who led the Tigers in scoring with 25 points (5g,20a) this campaign, earlier was voted to both the All-NCHC Second Team and NCHC All-Rookie Team. He earned Player of the Week recognition on three occasions during the '13-14 regular-season.

A fourth-round draft pick of the NHL's Carolina Hurricanes in June 2012, Slavin finished second nationally among freshman defensemen with .78 points per game. He led all NCHC defensemen with that mark as well as .95 points per contest (5g,14a) in 20 conference outings, and was second to Nebraska Omaha forward Jake Guentzel among all league rookies in both categories.

Thursday's awards ceremony preceded the inaugural NCHC Frozen Four tournament, which gets underway Friday with semifinal action at the Target Center.

NCHC Awards
Player of the Year – Josh Archibald, UNO
Rookie of the Year – Jaccob Slavin, CC
Coach of the Year – Bob Motzko, SCSU
Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Nic Dowd, SCSU
Forward of the Year – Josh Archibald, UNO
Defenseman of the Year – Joey LaLeggia, Denver
Goaltender of the Year – Sam Brittain, Denver
Offensive Defenseman of the Year – Joey LaLeggia, Denver
Defensive Forward of the Year – Nic Dowd, SCSU
Sportsmanship Award – Eamonn McDermott, CC