Former Falcon lacrosse coach Fred Acee named to IMLCA Hall of Fame

By  | 

U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. – Former Falcon lacrosse coach Fred Acee was selected to the Inaugural Intercollegiate Men’s Lacrosse Coaches Association Hall of Fame, as announced today by the IMLCA. The IMLCA Hall of Fame celebration will take place Saturday, Dec. 12, at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront Hotel.

Acee, who holds a career record of 350-223-1, was Air Force’s head coach from 1998-2008. He has spent the last six seasons as a volunteer assistant for the Falcons. Among the highlights during his tenure with the Falcons are an upset victory over ninth-ranked conference foe Notre Dame in 2006 and a historic win against defending national champion Virginia to open the 2004 season. The victory over the Cavaliers marked the first time the Falcons had knocked off a top-ranked team. Acee, has more than 40 years of coaching experience.

Prior to his arrival at the Academy, Acee, a 1963 graduate of Cortland State, spent 30 years as the lacrosse coach at SUNY-Farmingdale, leading the Rams to three NJCAA championships and 25 Final Fours. Acee was also named the NJCAA Coach of the Year on four occasions (1977, 1981, 1987 and 1997).

Over the past four-plus decades, Acee has racked up numerous accolades, including inductions into the Long Island Metropolitan Hall of Fame and the Junior College Lacrosse Hall of Fame. He served as the defensive coach for the U.S. lacrosse team which won a world championship in 1994 and was also the head coach for the South team at the North/South All-Star Game in 2002. Acee was honored as the Howdy Myers Man of the Year by the USILA in 2001, and in 2007, he was recipient of both the USILA’s Frenchy Julien Service Award and the IMLCA Creators Award. Most recently, Acee was inducted into the Cortland C-Club Hall of Fame in 2010.

Joining Acee in the Hall of Fame Class of 2015 are: Jim "Ace" Adams (Army, Penn and Virginia), Willis Bilderback (Navy), Dick Edell (Baltimore, Army and Maryland), Jack Emmer (Cortland, Washington & Lee and Army), Richard Garber (Massachusetts), Richie Moran (Cornell), Robert “Bob” Scott (Johns Hopkins), Roy Simmons Jr. (Syracuse), Richard Speckmann (Nassau), Dave Urick (Hobart and Georgetown).