CSU-Pueblo Racquetball team claims 16th national title

By  | 

TEMPE, Ariz. (GoThunderWolves.com - April 5, 2012) - The Colorado State University-Pueblo men's racquetball team lived up to its distinction of the finest collegiate racquetball team in the country last week, capturing its third national title in four years and 16th overall at the 40th Annual National Intercollegiate Racquetball Championships.

Led by individual national championships in seven out of nine brackets, CSU-Pueblo bested racquetball teams from "Division I" schools across the country in dominant fasion to capture the title.

Leading the charge was one-singles player, Jansen Allen (Sr., Rice, Tex.), who defeated the one-seed from Oregon State, Taylor Knoth, to claim the national championship and earn a qualifier to the USA National Racquetball team.

Allen also teamed with Nick Montalbano (Jr., West Isplip, N.Y.) to win the one-doubles title, again defeating Knoth and Grant Stalley from Oregon State. Allen and Montalbano also qualified to the national team with the win.

National championship performances were also turned in by Montalbano at two-singles, Felipe Camacho (Jr., Costa Rica) at three-singles, Jake Bredenback (Jr., Minneapolis, Minn.) at four-singles, and William Otto (Jr., St. Louis, Mo.) at five-singles. Doubles titles were also turned in by the Camacho/Bredenback combo at two-doubles.

Additional members of the national championship team include Tyler Stone (So., Parker, Colo.), Jose Sentano (Fr., Nicaragua) and Matt Childers (Fr., Mesquite, Tex.).

Adding to the honors was a national coach of the year honor for coach Richard Krinsky.

"The championship trophy was humbling, as it identified us as one of the top programs in the history of the sport," Krinsky said. "Our kids deserved it. They have competed hard both on and off the court."

The win marked the program's 16th national title since its birth in 1992. Since 1996, the men's program has won the national championship every year except one.