Tight End Jeff Heuerman named Broncos 2018 Ed Block Courage Award Recipient

By  | 

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. The Denver Broncos have selected tight end Jeff Heuerman as their 2018 Ed Block Courage Award winner, it was announced in a team meeting on Friday.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Heuerman was selected for the award by his teammates for his toughness in overcoming injuries while remaining team focused and passionate about the game.

The fourth-year tight end started 10-of-11 games played in 2018 and ranked third on the team with 31 receptions for 281 yards (9.1 avg.) with two touchdowns before sustaining fractured ribs and a bruised lung against Pittsburgh in Week 12. In addition to missing his entire rookie season in 2015 with a torn ACL, Heuerman has also battled through knee and ankle injuries the last few seasons.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. Recipients are selected by their teammates for exceptional courage, great character and inspiring effort.

The 41st Ed Block Courage Awards recognizing recipients from each of the 32 NFL teams will be held at the Renaissance Hotel-Inner Harbor in Baltimore on Saturday, March 23.