Three women, three men and men’s 4x400m selected to NCAA Outdoor Championships

By  | 

INDIANAPOLIS The Colorado State University-Pueblo men's and women's track and field programs will have a total of eight student-athletes headed to the 2019 NCAA Division II Outdoor Track and Field Championships, set for May 23-25 in Kingsville, Texas.

Texas A&M University-Kingsville will serve as the host of the championships at Javelina Stadium. The championships will be streamed live on each day.

The No. 15 men's track and field team has three individuals racing and the 4x400m relay team set to compete.

Junior Thomas Staines (Colorado Springs, Colo.) will look to defend his 2018 outdoor national title and win his fourth consecutive NCAA 800m race. He enters with the fastest qualifying time in the nation. After earning indoor All-American honors in the 800m, senior Devundrick Walker (Aurora, Colo.) will race in search of again finding the podium. Junior Marcelo Laguera (Chihuahua, Mexico) will double-up and race both the 10,000m race and 5000m race in his first national appearance since being crowned NCAA Division II Cross Country National Champion in December. Finally, the 4x400m relay team is returning to the national stage after also qualifying for last year's outdoor championships.

Staines owns the fastest 800m time in NCAA Division II this outdoor season, as he ran an automatic time last weekend when he clocked a 1:47.53 at the Oxy Invite. Walker ran his qualifying time of 1:49.47 at the Bryan Clay Invitational, which is fourth in the region and sixth nationally.

Laguera has the second fastest 10,000m time in Division II, as he posted a mark of 29:25.15 at the Mike Fanelli Track Classic. The junior crossed the finish line in 14:08.87 in the 5000m race at the Bryan Clay Invitational to rank 10th nationally. Laguera won the RMAC Championship in the 5000m run.

The 4x400m squad is made up of sophomore Jordan Whitley (Colorado Springs, Colo.), senior Shawn Horne (Camp Casey, South Korea), Walker and Staines. The Pack ran to the NCAA Division II automatic time of 3:08.82 just last weekend at the Azusa Pacific Twilight & Multi. The time sits seventh nationally. The same foursome were crowned RMAC Champions this outdoor season. Horne, Staines and Walker were all National Champions with the DMR in March, while Whitley will be making his first nationals appearance.

On the women's side, three individuals have earned a spot at the national meet and all three are indoor All-Americans.

Leading the way will be NCAA Division II Indoor National Long Jump Champion, junior Lauren Fairchild (McKinney, Texas). Her top long jump mark of 6.01m (19' 8.75"), which she hit at the Spank Blasing Invitational, sits eighth in Division II this season. Fairchild won the RMAC Outdoor Championship in the long jump last month.

On the track, sophomore Yasmine Hernandez (Johnstown, Colo.) clocked an 800m provisional time of 2:08.72 at the Bryan Clay and ranks 12th nationally.

Sophomore Hailey Streff (Madison, S.D.) has qualified for the 1500m run after posting a time of 4:28.45 at the Bryan Clay. She had the 19th best time in Division II, but will enter the race with the 13th fastest time in the field.

Both Hernandez and Streff are making their first individual appearances at a track and field national championship, but were indoor All-Americans with a distance medley relay team that finished fourth.