Rockies Announce 2018 Minor League Staff

By  | 

DENVER – The Colorado Rockies announced their Minor League staff for the 2018 season today, including the staff for a second Dominican Summer League team. The announcement also includes a new hitting and bunting coordinator as well as a new outfield and baserunning coordinator and 13 other coaching staff changes.

Darin Everson enters a new position in 2018 as the hitting and bunting coordinator after serving as the hitting coach for Triple-A Albuquerque in 2017 and as manager of Double-A Hartford from 2015-16. Everson enters his 21st season in professional baseball, his sixth with Colorado.

Anthony Sanders will become the outfield and baserunning coordinator after serving as the supervisor of High-A development for two seasons (2016-17) and the manager of Rookie Level Grand Junction from 2013-15. Sanders enters his 11th season with Colorado after playing parts of 14 seasons in the Minors.

At Albuquerque, Glenallen Hill returns for his sixth season as the team’s manager, his 14th season in the Rockies organization. Brandon Emanuel joins the Isotopes as the pitching coach after previously serving as the pitching coach for High-A Lancaster from 2014-17. Also joining the club this season will be Hitting Coach Tim Doherty, who previously served as the hitting coach for Hartford in 2017 and Grand Junction in 2016.

The Hartford Yard Goats enter the 2018 season with an entirely new coaching staff. Warren Schaeffer enters his first season as their manager, after serving as Low-A Asheville’s manager from 2015-17. Mark Brewer joins the club as the pitching coach, after spending the last four seasons as the pitching coach between Triple-A (2017) and Low-A (2014-16). Also joining the Yard Goats as their hitting coach this season is Lee Stevens, who was previously the hitting coach for Grand Junction (2013-15, 2017) and High-A Modesto (2016).

Lancaster welcomes Frank Gonzales as their new supervisor of development in his sixth season with the Rockies. Gonzales was previously the manager for Grand Junction for the last two seasons. Fred Ocasio will return as the team’s manager for the fourth season, his 22nd season with the Rockies organization. Dave Burba returns as the High-A pitching coach, his eighth season as a pitching coach in the Rockies organization, after serving as the Double-A pitching coach for the past three seasons (2015-17).

Asheville enters 2018 with Marv Foley as their Supervisor of Development. Foley begins his sixth season in this position, after being the roving catching coordinator for six seasons (2006-12). Robinson Cancel enters his first season as manager of the Tourists, his fifth season as a professional coach/manager. Also returning for 2018 is Pitching Coach Ryan Kibler, who begins his second season with Asheville. Norberto “Paco” Martin will enter his second season as the club’s hitting coach.

Short-Season Boise will welcome John Pierson as the new Supervisor of Development, his first year in the organization. Pierson comes to the Rockies with over 40 years of experience working for Atlanta, Chicago-NL, and Miami, most recently serving as the hitting coordinator for the Braves in 2017. Scott Little enters his second season as the manager of Boise, his third year in the Rockies organization. Bob Apodaca begins his second season as the pitching coach for the Hawks, his 46th year overall in professional baseball. Cesar Galvez transitions to coaching after seven years as a player in the Rockies organization.

Grand Junction will enter 2018 with Andy Gonzales as their supervisor of development for the second consecutive season. Returning as the pitching coach is Doug Jones, who begins his fourth year with the Rockies organization. Jake Opitz enters his first season as the hitting coach for Grand Junction, after serving as a coach for Hartford in 2017. The manager position is still to be determined.

Below is a full breakdown of the Rockies Minor League staff with the changes for 2018 in bold. For those who have changed positions within the organization, the title he held in 2017 is in parentheses.