U.S. Olympians Inducted Into 2019 Hall of Fame Class

By  | 

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- The red carpet was rolled out Thursday at the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Training Center for more than a dozen Olympians inducted into 2019 Hall of Fame Class.

The 2019 Class included speed skater Apolo Anton Ohno, the most decorated winter Olympian in U.S. history, to civil rights icons and 1968 Mexico City track and field medalists John Carlos and Tommie Smith. The 1998 U.S. Women's Ice Hockey team, winners of the inaugural competition for women's ice hockey at the Olympics, were inducted as well.

"We went through a lot of this 20 years ago, but to get this resurrected and have us back here...we're all super excited," Olympian Sue Merz said Friday on the red carpet. "I think I can speak for the team and say it's really a dream come true."

The 2019 Hall of Fame class won a combined 79 medals for the United States throughout their Olympic careers, 43 of those gold. Ohno is the first short track speed-skater to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, and Candance Cable (a nine-time Paralympian) is the first Nordic skier to enter the Hall.

The 16th Hall of Fame class was selected via a voting process that includes current and past Olympians, as well as an online poll. More than 200,000 votes were cast.

The full 2019 Hall of Fame class includes:

Candace Cable - (1980 - 2006, Alpine Skiing, Nordic Skiing, Track and Field)
John Carlos - (1968, Track and Field)
Lisa Leslie - (1996 - 2008, Basketball)
Nastia Liukin - (2008, Gymnastics)
Misty May-Treanor - (2004 - 2012, Beach Volleyball)
Tracy Nugent - (Special Contributor)
Ron O'Brian - (1968-1988, Diving Coach)
Apolo Anton Ohno (2002 - 2010, Short Track Speedskating)
Erin Popovich (2000 - 2008, Swimming)
Tommie Smith - (1968, Track and Field)
Dara Torres - (1984 - 2008, Swimming)
Chris Waddell - (1992 - 2004, Alpine Skiing, Track and Field)
1998 U.S. Women's Ice Hockey Team