CSU Track & Field Release: Bedard named USTFCCCA Mountain Region Women’s Coach of the Year

By  | 

NEW ORLEANS – Colorado State head coach Brian Bedard has been named the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches' Association (USTFCCCA) Mountain Region Women's Coach of the Year for the indoor season. The organization released its regional awards on Friday.

The USTFCCCA regional awards were determined by a vote of member coaches following a nomination period. Only the indoor season was considered in selecting coaches and athletes for regional honors. Bedard earns this honor for the second time in the past five seasons.

Bedard recently led Colorado State to a sweep of the women's and men's titles at the Mountain West Indoor Championships, including the women's team's third conference title in the past four seasons. Colorado State's 39-point margin of victory was its largest ever at the MW Indoor Championships, and was the largest by any team at the indoor conference meet since 2015.

Three Rams reached the NCAA Indoor Championships, including two in Bedard's area of expertise, the throws. Senior Kelcey Bedard is the No. 7 seed in the weight throw, while sophomore Tarynn Sieg ranks as the No. 11 seed in the shot put. Senior Marybeth Sant gives the Rams another athlete seeded in the top eight in her respective event, as the Millrose Games participant is the No. 6 seed in the 60 meters.

Colorado State's qualifiers will be in action at the 2019 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships from March 8-9 at the Birmingham CrossPlex in Birmingham, Ala. Sant and Sieg will be in action over a one-hour span on Friday starting at 4:15 p.m. MT/5:15 p.m. CT. Bedard will compete at 1 p.m. MT/12 p.m. CT on Saturday. Should Sant advance to Saturday's final, she will run at 4:10 p.m. MT/5:10 p.m. CT.

ESPN3 will stream the NCAA Indoor Championships live beginning at 4:30 p.m. MT/5:30 p.m. CT on Friday, March 8 and starting at 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT on Saturday, March 9. The broadcast of the NCAA Indoor Championships will be re-aired at 8 p.m. MT/9 p.m. CT on Sunday, March 10 on ESPN2 and on ESPNU at 8 p.m. MT/9 p.m. CT on Monday, March 11. Live results will also be available for the entirety of the meet.