CSU Men’s Basketball Release: Carvacho named first-team All-Mountain West by league media members

By  | 

FORT COLLINS, Colo. – Colorado State redshirt-junior center Nico Carvacho has been recognized as a first-team All-Mountain West in a vote by the league's media members, announced today. Last season, he was an honorable mention honoree from the media.

Currently the national leader in rebounds per game at 13.2, Carvacho ranked seventh in the Mountain West with 17.8 points per game in league contests and leading the MW at 13.8 rebounds per game, including league highs in both offensive (4.0) and defensive (9.8) rebounds per game. He was third in the Mountain West games in field goal percentage, connecting on 60.3 percent of his shots, and tied for sixth at 0.8 blocks a game. He recorded double-doubles in 14 of 18 league games, including a career-high 28 points and 20 rebounds at UNLV on Jan. 2. He had six games of 15 or more rebounds as well as six games with 20 or more points after recording just one in his first two years in Fort Collins.

Carvacho has had a record-setting season both for the Rams and the Mountain West Conference. He has become just the second player in league history to grab 400 rebounds in a single season, a mark currently at a school-record 409 boards. With his 20-rebound effort in the season finale against UNLV, he became the all-time career leader in rebounding in the Mountain West at 945 and in conference games only with 578. He ranks fourth in career double-doubles in league history with 35, while he is the all-time leader in conference games with 22.

The Rams open the 2019 Air Force Reserve Mountain West Men's Basketball Championship on Wednesday at 12 p.m. MT/11 a.m. PT, taking on Boise State in the opening round. The game will be streamed on Stadium on Facebook, with the radio broadcast going across the Colorado State Sports Network.

Sam Merrill, Utah State (162 points)
Caleb Martin, Nevada (148)
Jordan Caroline, Nevada (147)
Nico Carvacho, Colorado State (112)
Justin James, Wyoming (110)

Braxton Huggins, Fresno State (96)
Deshon Taylor, Fresno State (94)
Jalen McDaniels, SDSU (93)
Neemias Queta, Utah State (89)
Cody Martin, Nevada (80)

Lavelle Scottie, Air Force (56)
Nate Grimes, Fresno State (24)
Devin Watson, SDSU (24)
Kris Clyburn, UNLV (18)
(t) Justinian Jessup, Boise State (14)
(t) Noah Robotham, UNLV (14)

Derrick Alston, Boise State (10); Anthony Mathis, New Mexico (9); Vance Jackson, New Mexico (7); Alex Hobbs, Boise State (4); Carlton Bragg, New Mexico (3); Jazz Johnson, Nevada (3); Ryan Swan, Air Force (3).

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Sam Merrill, Utah State (10) Others receiving votes: Caleb Martin, Nevada (1)

COACH OF THE YEAR: Craig Smith, Utah State (10) Others receiving votes: Justin Hutson, Fresno State (1)

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Neemias Queta, Utah State (6) Others receiving votes: Cody Martin, Nevada (3); Tre'Shawn Thurman, Nevada (2)

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: G Braxton Huggins, Fresno State (10) Others receiving votes: Vance Jackson, New Mexico (1)

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Neemias Queta, Utah State (11)

SIXTH MAN OF THE YEAR: Jazz Johnson, Nevada (8) Others receiving votes: Diogo Brito, Utah State (3)