CC's Yoon named to All-CHN Rookie Team

By  | 

PRINCETON, N.J. – Three National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) student-athletes were honored by College Hockey News (CHN) on Tuesday, as St. Cloud State senior forward Patrick Newell and SCSU senior defenseman Jimmy Schuldt were named to the 2018-19 All-CHN First Team, while Colorado College defenseman Bryan Yoon earned All-CHN Rookie Team accolades.

This marks the second-straight season Schuldt has earned All-CHN First-Team honors, while he is the lone player to repeat All-CHN accolades this year. The two Huskies on the All-CHN First Team make St. Cloud State the only team in the country with two players on the All-CHN First or Second Teams. The rest of the All-CHN First Team consists of a pair of Big Ten players and a pair of Hockey East players. Four ECAC Hockey skaters landed on the All-CHN Second Team.

Yoon was the lone NCHC representative on the All-CHN Rookie Team, which also included a trio of freshmen from Hockey East and one player each from the Big Ten and WCHA.

Schuldt (Minnetonka, Minn.) was named the NCHC Player of the Year and Defensive Defenseman of the Year for 2018-19, while also being named a Hobey Baker Award finalist (along with Newell). The three-time team captain led all NCHC blue liners with 35 points, which ties for seventh nationally, while scoring 10 goals, tying for eighth among NCAA defensemen, and chipping in 25 assists. Schuldt played in all 39 games this season, never missing a single game in his career, while posting a +24 plus/minus, which ties for seventh nationally among blue liners. The two-time First-Team All-NCHC selection blocked 77 shots on the season, while firing 79 shots on goal and tallying 17 points on the power play. Schuldt was a three-time NCHC Defenseman of the Week, is a top-10 finalist for the Senior CLASS Award and was also voted to the NCHC Frozen Faceoff All-Tournament Team two weekends ago. The undrafted free agent led the Huskies to their second straight Penrose Cup as NCHC regular-season champions this season, along with Newell.

Newell (Thousand Oaks, Calif.) was selected the unanimous NCHC Forward of the Year this season, while also garnering First-Team All-NCHC honors and winning the NCHC Sportsmanship Award. The Hobey Baker Award top-10 finalist (along with Schuldt) won the NCHC scoring title with 28 points in 24 conference games, while also tallying a league-best 13 goals in NCHC play. Newell, who signed with the New York Rangers earlier this week, finished the season with 47 points in 39 games, which ties for fifth nationally in scoring. His 21 goals tie for eighth in the country, including six game-winning goals, which are second in the NCAA, while handing out 26 assists. Newell led the entire country with his +35 plus/minus, while firing 124 shots on goal. He was the NCHC February Player of the Month and was also voted to the NCHC Frozen Faceoff All-Tournament Team two weekends ago, along with Schuldt. Newell never committed a major penalty in his career and had only four minors this season en route to earning the NCHC’s Sportsmanship Award. In addition to a second straight Penrose Cup, Newell helped the Huskies go undefeated at home this season, while earning the overall No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament with a 30-win campaign.

Yoon (Parker, Colo.) was named to the NCHC All-Rookie Team after compiling 26 points, while playing in all 41 games for the Tigers this season. His 26 points led all NCHC rookie defensemen and rank third nationally among freshman blue liners. He scored three goals, while dishing out 23 assists, which rank third among all NCAA rookies and lead rookie defensemen. Yoon blocked 65 shots on the season, also third nationally among freshmen, while committing only four penalties and firing 49 shots on goal. Fifteen of his 26 points came on the power play this season, including 14 helpers.