Buffs Garner Pac-12, USBWA Honors

By  | 

BOULDER – University of Colorado sophomore D’Shawn Schwartz was named to the 2018-19 Pac-12 Conference Men’s Basketball All-Academic Team the league office announced on Tuesday.

Redshirt sophomore Alexander Strating and redshirt freshman Evan Battey earned honorable mention to the All-Academic team.

Schwartz was one of 11 players named to one of the two All-Academic teams. A 6-foot, 7-inch guard/forward from Colorado Springs, Schwartz is a Business major sporting a 3.28 cumulative grade point average. He has started all 29 games he has played in this season, averaging 8.7 points and 3.7 rebounds per game.

Schwartz is the second Buffalo to earn a spot on a Pac-12 All-Academic Team joining Sabatino Chen who earned consecutive first team honors in 2011-12 and 2012-12. Battey and Strating join Shane Harris-Tunks (2011-12) as Buffaloes who have earned honorable mention recognition.

To be eligible for selection to the All-Academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall GPA and be either a starter or significant contributor.


Colorado sophomore forward Tyler Bey added to his postseason resume with a selection to the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District VIII Team.

Bey was one of 10 members on the All-District VIII Team which encompasses schools in the states of Colorado, Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Nevada and Montana. He is the eighth Colorado player to earn USBWA recognition in District VIII since 2011.

On Monday, Bey was named the 2018-19 Pac-12 Most Improved Player of the Year, the Pac-12 Player of the Week and earned a spot on the All-Pac-12 First Team. He leads Colorado at 13.4 points and 9.6 rebounds per game while shooting 56 percent from the field.

Colorado, 19-11 overall, is the fifth seed at the 2019 Pac-12 Tournament and will play 12th-seeded California in a first round game on Wednesday, March 13, at 3:30 p.m. MT, at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.