Bey Named Pac-12 Most Improved Player of the Year

By  | 

BOULDER – University of Colorado sophomore forward Tyler Bey was named the 2018-19 Pac-12 Conference Most Improved Player of the Year, the league announced on its annual postseason awards show Monday.

Earlier in the day Bey was selected to the Pac-12 All-Conference First Team and named Pac-12 Player of the Week for the league’s final week. All three awards are firsts for Bey.

Bey, a 6-foot, 7-inch, 218-pound forward from Las Vegas, more than doubled his scoring output from his freshman season and dramatically improved his other numbers, virtually across the board. He averaged 6.1 points and 5.1 rebounds a game as a freshman in 2017-18, then put up team-leading numbers as a second-year Buffalo at 13.4 points and 9.6 rebounds per game.

Bey also leads Colorado in field goal shooting at 55.9 percent, up from 50.3 percent a year ago. He has increased his free throw accuracy by nearly 10 percent on 35 more attempts. Bey leads Colorado in free throws made (82) and attempted (109) which at 76 percent falls just outside the Pac-12 leaderboard.

He is the co-leader in the Pac-12 in double-doubles with 14, including a current streak of five in a row. Bey is averaging a double-double in conference games at 14.5 points and 10.0 rebounds. He is second on overall rebounding and defensive boards (7.7 drpg) on the Pac-12 leaderboard while ranking eighth in field goal percentage, ninth in blocks (1.2 bpg), 11th in offensive rebounds (1.9 orpg) and 16th in scoring

Bey is Colorado’s second Pac-12 Most Improved Player of Year winner in four seasons, joining 2018 NBA Draft pick George King who won the award after his redshirt sophomore season in 2015-16. He is the fourth Buffalo to win a Pac-12 “Player of the Year” type award in eight seasons joining King, Andre Roberson (2012-13 Defensive Player of the Year) and Dominique Collier (2017-18 Sixth Man of the Year).

Colorado, 19-11 overall, is the fifth seed at the 2019 Pac-12 Tournament and will play 12th-seeded California in a first round game on Wednesday, March 13, at 3:30 p.m. MT, at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.