Many Colorado counties under burn restrictions: What that means for you

Most current burn restriction map as of 1:30 p.m. Oct. 14, 2019.
By  | 

EL PASO COUNTY, Colo. (KKTV) - More than 20 counties in Colorado are under fire restrictions due to elevated fire danger in recent weeks.

Most of the counties are in southern Colorado and include El Paso, Teller and Fremont.

Fire danger has increased recently due to predominantly warm weather and lack of meaningful precipitation, last week's snow event excepted. The Decker Fire, which has been burning for more than a month, has seen activity increase in October, and El Paso County has experienced two grass fires since Sept. 30 that were big enough to force evacuations.

Burn bans restrict most forms of outdoor burning, with some exceptions made for things like campfires at developed campgrounds and for smoking outside in "barren" areas. Details on what exactly is and isn't allowed in your county can be found by clicking here.