Like the state and county, the City of Colorado Springs is enacting fire restrictions because of the high danger for wildland fires. The City’s version of the restrictions will go into effect at noon Friday and remain until conditions approve.
According to the Colorado Springs Fire Department, anyone who fails to comply with a burn restriction or burn ban can be punished under city law. A careless fire that threatens or damages property is fourth degree arson and the Fire Department says those cases will be prosecuted.
The burn restriction prohibits bonfires, open or prescribed burns and recreational fires. Model rockets, blasting, welding or torches can only used with a permit. Smoking materials must be disposed in a non-combustible container.
If the Fire Department escalates the rules to the level of a burn ban, model rockets and fireplaces that don’t burn propane or natural gas will also be prohibited. Outdoor cooking would also be prohibited in city parks or open spaces.
Additionally, all types of consumer fireworks are illegal in Colorado Springs. Use or sale of fireworks is subject to a $500 fire and/or up to 90 days in jail.
Parents are asked to remain especially cognizant of their children’s activities and everyone is reminded to call 9-1-1 immediately if you see smoke or flames.
KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.
If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.powered by Disqus