Ty MacArthur takes home top honor at Air Force football banquet

By  | 

U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. – Senior wide receiver Ty MacArthur won the Brian Bullard Memorial Award, the highest honor a Falcon football player can earn, at the annual Air Force Football banquet at the Academy.

MacArthur was limited to three games this season due to injury. He was the team’s top receiver prior to his injury with seven catches for 99 yards. He also had seven carries for 32 yards. MacArthur led the Falcons in received in 2012 with 24 catches for 411 yards. He finished his career with 35 catches for 611 yards and had a career-receiving average of 17.5 yards per catch.

The Bullard Award, established in 1984 and voted on by the football team, is based on the criteria that typifies the late Brian Bullard – unselfishness, 110 percent effort, total team commitment and pride in his role on the team whether he’s a starter or not. Bullard was a 1982 graduate of Air Academy High School in Colorado Springs. He attended the Academy the following year and played on the football team for two years. During Thanksgiving vacation in 1983, Bullard and his girlfriend, fellow cadet Dianne Williams, died from carbon monoxide poisoning while returning from a trip to Kansas in a snow storm.

Brian Bullard Memorial Award Winners
2013 Ty MacArthur
2012 Jordan Eason
2011 Jonathan Warzeka
2010 Nathan Walker
2009 Ben Garland
2008 Shea Smith
2007 Drew Fowler, Garrett Rybak
2006 Gilberto Perez
2005 Denny Poland
2004 John Rudzinksi
2003 Monty Coleman, Joe Schieffer
2002 Tom Heier
2001 Zach Johnson
2000 Nate Beard, Matt Dayoc, Mike Gallagher
1999 Charlie Jackson
1998 Mike Tyler
1997 Chris Gizzi
1996 Lee Gutherie
1995 Brandon Wilkerson
1994 Steve Russ
1993 Will McCombs
1992 Grant Johnson
1991 Kette Dornbush
1990 Bill Price
1989 Lance McDowell
1988 Anthony Roberson
1987 Rip Burgwald
1986 Pat Evans
1985 Pat Malackowski
1984 Steve Kelly