Three Repeat Champions Highlight Wing Open Finals

By  | 

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. – Highlighted by a history-making performance from senior Glenn Miltenberg, the Air Force boxing team wrapped up competition at the 2013 Wing Open Boxing Championships on Thursday, Feb. 28, with 10 bouts in the main ring at Clune Arena.

Following a decisive victory at 147 pounds, Miltenberg captured his second straight Wing Open Outstanding Boxer Award – becoming the first boxer in program history to claim that award more than once in a career.

The senior easily won his third consecutive Wing Open title, defeating junior Sean Cork in the 147-pound final. Miltenberg kept Cork along ropes for the entire six-minute bout, forcing him into the corner and connecting on several hard shots to the head and body. The senior charged out of his corner to start the third round and forced Cork into a standing eight count. He added several more scoring blows, en route to the judges’ unanimous decision.

Sophomore Roy Taylor successfully defended his Wing Open title in the 125-pound weight division, after defeating junior Stephen Bittner for the second straight year. The contest went back-and-forth throughout the three-round match, until Taylor was able to gain the advantage on scoring hits and earned the judges’ decision over Bittner.

Senior Logan Brandt also earned his second Wing Open title, despite dropping two weight classes for the 2013 tournament. Brandt, who won the 195-pound title as a junior, won this year’s championship at 175 pounds. Brandt controlled the ring to earn a decision over classmate Justin Smith and secure his second Wing Open title.

Freshman Jacob Berggren collected the night’s lone upset, as he defeated defending champion Andrew Munoz in the 132-pound final. While the beginning of the bout was evenly matched, momentum swung toward Berggren with 30 seconds remaining in the second round. He maintained it during the final stanza, before claiming the judges’ vote and his first Wing Open title.

The 139-pound bout featured a pair of former finalists, each looking for their first Wing Open title. Senior Will Petersen, a three-time runner-up selection, concluded his Wing Open career with his first title, taking the decision over junior Ethan Salgado in a hard-hitting contest.

Junior Denis Vorobyov, a two-time Wing Open finalist at 175 pounds, moved down to the 165-pound weight class this year and defeated sophomore Keith Sasine for his first Wing Open. Vorobyov took control of the bout midway through the contest to outpoint Sasine and claim the win.

Four of the bouts featured first-time finalists in both corners. Sophomore Michael Magtalas defeated freshman Matt Arcano in the night’s opening bout at 119 pounds, while junior James Monk captured his first Wing Open title with a 156-pound decision over senior Mike Leland. Freshman Phil Mays battled classmate Gytenis Borusas for a decision in the 185-pound bout, while senior Cameron Vickroy – a late addition to the Wing Open lineup – defeated sophomore Aaron Oats at 195 pounds.

Seniors Drew Pineda and Olawale Lawal captured Wing Open titles by being unopposed this year. With the walkover, Pineda, a two-time national champion, picked up his fourth straight Wing Open title – becoming just the 13th Air Force boxer to accomplish that feat.

The winners from tonight’s bout will form the nucleus of the squad that will represent the Academy at the upcoming regional and national championship bouts. The National Collegiate Boxing Association (NCBA) West Regional Championships, an event Air Force has won 32 of the last 33 years, will be held in Reno, Nev., during the March 21-23 weekend.

119-lbs.: Michael Magtalas (CS-34) dec. Matt Arcano (CS-40)
125-lbs.: Roy Taylor (CS-14) dec. Stephen Bittner (CS-14)
132-lbs.: Jacob Berggren (CS-30) dec. Andrew Munoz (CS-40)
139-lbs.: Will Petersen (CS-02) dec. Ethan Salgado (CS-14)
147-lbs.: Glenn Miltenberg (CS-27) dec. Sean Cork (CS-22)
156-lbs.: James Monk (CS-10) dec. Mike Leland (CS-21)
165-lbs.: Denis Vorobyov (CS-03) dec. Keith Sasine (CS-24)
175-lbs.: Logan Brandt (CS-18) dec. Justin Smith (CS-31)
185-lbs.: Phil Mays (CS-08) dec. Gytenis Borusas (CS-23)
195-lbs.: Cameron Vickroy (CS-25) dec. Aaron Oats (CS-20)