CU's Dinwiddie Named to 2014 Bob Cousy Award Watch List

By  | 

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – University of Colorado junior guard Spencer Dinwiddie was named to the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award watch list, announced Tuesday by The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. This list was created by a committee of well-respected media members and influential people within college basketball from around the country.

This is the second consecutive year Dinwiddie has been made the watch list and is one of six Pac-12 Conference players named to the 2014 list. The Woodland Hills, Calif. native, who was an All-Pac-12 selection a year ago, is coming off a sophomore campaign where he led the Buffaloes in scoring (15.3 ppg.), assists (99, 3.0 apg.), and free throw percentage (.825).

“The Hall of Fame is proud to work with Mr. Cousy and honor the best point guards playing in college basketball right now,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “This list represents some of the top student athletes from across the country. We are truly honored to be a part of this award.”

“The Bob Cousy Award promotes the values of leadership, determination, and teamwork, all skills needed not only on the hardwood but also in life,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). “Mr. Cousy exemplified all of these traits, and continues to be an inspiration to basketball players on and off the court.”

This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 in early February, then final five by early March.

A premier Selection Committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. This committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including members of the media, head coaches, media relations contacts and Hall of Famers. The Cousy Award winner will be presented the award on Championship Monday in Dallas at the Hall of Fame's Class of 2014 Announcement and Press Conference.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A&M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), and last year’s recipient Trey Burke (Michigan).

For more information on the 2014 Bob Cousy, log onto

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame: Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.