CSU's Bejarano earns USBWA All-District VIII recognition

By  | 

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – A day after earning All-Mountain West accolades, Colorado State junior guard Daniel Bejarano took home another postseason honor when he was selected to the 10-player U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District VIII team.
Bejarano becomes the fourth Ram in as many seasons – joining Colton Iverson (2013), Wes Eikmeier (2012) and Andy Ogide (2011) - to earn a spot on the All-District VIII team which includes the states of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming.
The Phoenix, Ariz., native is one of five players from the Mountain West to be recognized in District VIII, joining District Player of the Year Cameron Bairstow and teammate Kendall Williams of New Mexico, Boise State’s Anthony Drmic and Nevada’s Deonte Burton. San Diego State’s Xavier Thames, who was named Mountain West Player of the Year yesterday, was also recognized, in District IX. UNM’s Craig Neal was named District Coach of the Year.
Bejarano leads Colorado State into the Mountain West tournament this week, averaging 16.7 points and 8.4 rebounds per game. He ranks as the only player in the MW to sit among the league’s top-10 this season in scoring (sixth), rebounding (eighth), assists per game (3.2; seventh) and steals per game (1.1; ninth). Nationally, he ranks as the No. 3 rebounder among guards, 67th overall. He has also tallied nine double-doubles on the season, scoring in double-figures in 27 of 31 games (including 11 20-point outbursts), while notching nine games with 10 or more rebounds, including a career-best 18 boards in a win over Lamar on Dec. 28.
Colorado State opens MW tournament play as the No. 9 seed, taking on No. 8 seed Utah State in the first round on Wednesday at 3 p.m. MT/2 p.m. PT at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas, Nev.

Other players named to the All-District VIII squad are: Askia Booker and Josh Scott of Colorado, BYU’s Tyler Haws, Idaho’s Stephen Madison and Utah’s Delon Wright.