CSU-Pueblo to induct eight into Athletics Hall of Fame

By  | 

PUEBLO, Colo. - The Colorado State University-Pueblo Athletics Hall of Fame will induct eight individuals and one outstanding team as its Class of 2013, the CSU-Pueblo Athletics Hall of Fame Committee has announced.
The Class of 2013 will be inducted in the fifth annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 16 at the Occhiato University Center Ballroom on the CSU-Pueblo campus.
The Class of 2013 includes six outstanding athletes, an outstanding coach, a special contributor, and an outstanding team - the 1985 NAIA national runner-up wrestling team, coached by Doug Moses.
The 2013 induction class is remarkable as it includes four athletes that played professionally. Headlining that quartet are athletes that played for several years at the highest level of their sport: former NBA and ABA player, Bob Warlick, and former NFL player and Kansas City Chief, Herman Heard. Also being inducted is former Pittsburgh Pirates draftee, Sam Christensen, and former pitcher Jerry Hummitszch, who was the top pitcher in the Milwaukee Braves' system before dying in a car accident. The athletes in the class are rounded out by two of the top female athletes in the history of the athletic program, former women's soccer All-American Robin Hayes, and women's basketball standout, Suzanne Gonzales.
Earning induction as a coach is women's athletics trailblazer, Kay Aguilar. The special contributor inductee is longtime Pueblo Chieftain sportswriter, Dave Socier.
The ceremony will take place at a Hall of Fame Luncheon on Saturday, Nov. 16 at the Occhiato University Center Ballroom on the CSU-Pueblo campus. The Luncheon will begin with a social from 10:30 a.m. to 11 a.m., followed by the ceremony at 11 a.m.
The inductees will also be honored later that day at the CSU-Pueblo "Hall of Fame" football game between the ThunderWolves and Western State, which kicks off at 2 p.m.
Tickets to the ceremony luncheon are $15 each. Kids 12 and under are $10 each. To reserve your spot, call the CSU-Pueblo Ticket Office at (719) 549-2050.
Inductee Sketches
Bob Warlick (Basketball - 1960-61): The first standout professional athlete to come from then-Pueblo Junior College, Warlick was the top player on the team that won the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) National Championship in 1961 and a 34-2 record. He earned NJCAA National Tournament MVP honors during that title run. He would go on to Pepperdine University then play professionally in the NBA, most notably with the San Francisco Warriors and the Detroit Pistons, and in the ABA with the Los Angeles Stars. Warlick is being inducted posthumously, as he passed away in 2005.
Herman Heard (Football - 1982-83): Was the second alumnus to go on to a lengthy NFL career, being drafted by the Kansas City Chiefs in the third round of the 1984 Draft, playing in Kansas City for six seasons ... At Southern Colorado, was a two-time All-RMAC selection, earning first team honors in 1983 after rushing for over 1,000 yards and logging 583 receiving yards, setting a school record in all-purpose yardage and leading the RMAC in scoring with 14 touchdowns ... His 28 touchdowns over just two seasons are still the third-most in school history.
Sam Christensen (Baseball - 2001-02): Arguably the top baseball player in program history, Christensen is the only two-time Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Player of the Year in conference history. He hit .452 during his junior season in 2001, leading the nation in doubles and earning All-American honors as the Pack went 45-14. He followed it up with a .471 season in 2002, leading the nation in hits. During his time with the ThunderWolves, his teams won 88 games, the most over any two-year span in school history. Following his collegiate career, he was drafted by the Pittsburgh Pirates and was named to the RMAC All-Century Team in 2008.
Jerry Hummitszch (Baseball/Basketball - 1959-61): A two-sport athlete, Hummitszch played alongside Warlick on the 1961 national championship basketball team. But basketball was not the sport he was known for - a standout pitcher at Pueblo Junior College, he was signed by the Milwaukee Braves in 1961. He quickly rose through the Braves' system, even hurling a no-hitter in 1963 while playing for the Austin Senators, the Braves' AA affiliate. He was considered the top pitcher in the organization when he tragically died in a car accident in May 1964 at age 23.
Suzanne Gonzales (Women's Basketball - 1986-89): Is ranked first in steals (270) and first in assists (501) ... Recorded nearly 200 assists in 1989 (7.0 APG) to set school records ... Is the only individual in school history (men or women) to record a quadruple-double, recording 13 points, 12 rebounds, 10 assists and 11 steals vs. Western State in 1989 ... Led Indians to two straight RMAC Regular Season Championships (1988 & 1989).
Robin Hayes (Women's Soccer - 2004-07): Easily the top offensive player in the history of the women's soccer program, Hayes is the career leader in nearly every offensive statistical category. A 2007 All-American and the only All-American in the history of the program, Hayes scored 25 goals in one season as the ThunderWolves won a school record 14 games and advanced to the RMAC Championship game. She finished her career with 50 goals, 109 total points, and was selected on the RMAC All-Century Team in 2008.
Dave Socier (Special Contributor - Former sportswriter, Pueblo Chieftain): The namesake of "Dave Socier Press Row" at Massari Arena has been a fixture at CSU-Pueblo for his 30-year career as a sports writer at The Pueblo Chieftain. His colorful personality showed through as powerfully as his snappy writing, and he showed that same demeanor when covering athletics at the University throughout his career. Now retired from The Pueblo Chieftain, he is one of the most trusted historians of CSU-Pueblo Athletics and of Pueblo sports.
Kay Aguilar (Outstanding Coach - 1967-86): An athletic administrator and coach, Kay helped forge (along with Charter Hall of Fame Inductee, Jessie Banks) the women's athletic program at CSU-Pueblo. She coached women's field hockey (1967-69), women's tennis (1966-78) and served as the USC Athletic Director in 1986.
1985 National Runner-Up Wrestling Team (Outstanding Team): The second team in school history to be national runners-up, the 1985 wrestling team was made all the more remarkable when you consider that the program was in just its third season of competition. Led by two national champions (and the first national champions in the history of the program), 126-pounder Bryan Hawkins and 177-pounder, Mike Guenther, the team boasted five RMAC champions and five All-Americans. The letterwinners from the team included Hawkins, Guenther, Chopper Shrull, Mike Fitzgerald, Steve Giadone, Art Aranda, Curt Topping, Todd Carey, Ramon Esquilen, Eric Lujan, Rich Giadone, Troy Carey, Steve Ross, Joe Browne, Matt Linnebur, Willie Krantz, and Ed Reinert. The team was coached by current hall-of-famer, Doug Moses.