CSU-Pueblo Women’s Golf Notches Top Spot in RMAC Preseason Poll

By  | 

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (August 28, 2014) ~ Defending Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference women's golf champion Colorado State Universty-Pueblo was selected to repeat as league champions in the 2014-15 RMAC Preseason Coaches Poll. Junior Leina Kim (Saipan, CNMI) was voted the conference's preseason golfer of the year and was tabbed to the preseason all-conference team along with teammate Julie Sanchez (Pueblo, Colo.).
The Pack, led by head coach Josh Koschke, collected eight of 12 first place votes and 113 points overall. CSU-Pueblo will be seeking its third conference title in the last four seasons when the 2015 RMAC Golf Championships take place April 20-21 in Phoenix, Ariz.

Kim (adds the preseason golfer of the year plaudit to a long list of accolades over the course of her career. The junior has won back-to-back RMAC Golfer of the Year awards, and last season, became the first player in RMAC and ThunderWolves' history to earn All-America honors. Kim won three individual tournament crowns and posted a 75.1 stroke average and .952 head-to-head winning percentage en route to her second consecutive NCAA regional appearance.
Sanchez, who shared the individual win at the 2014 RMAC Championships, is a three-time All-RMAC honoree. The senior earned third team honors as a freshman and followed that plaudit with second and first team awards in her sophomore and junior seasons, respectively. Sanchez posted a 78.9 stroke average last season to go along with a .795 head-to-head winning percentage.
CSU-Pueblo will host Wolfpack Invitational at the Pueblo Country Club Sept. 8-9 to kick off its 2014-15 season.

2014 RMAC Women's Golf Preseason Coaches Poll
School (First Place Votes) - Points
1. CSU-Pueblo (8) - 113
2. Colorado Mesa - 100
3. Western New Mexico (1) - 95
4. Metro State (2) - 88
5. Regis (1) - 78
6. Colorado Christian - 75
7. UC-Colorado Springs - 72
8. Adams State - 62
9. Black Hills State - 40
10. Chadron State - 28
11. Fort Lewis - 25
12. South Dakota Mines - 16

Preseason All-RMAC
Name (School, Year, Hometown)
Nathalie Galalcher (Metro State, Sr., Stockholm, Sweden)
Adrianna Grijalva (Western New Mexico, So., Tucson, Ariz.)
Nicole Hulbert (Regis, Sr., Arvada, Colo.)
Leina Kim (CSU-Pueblo, Jr., Saipan, CNMI)
Julie Sanchez (CSU-Pueblo, Sr., Pueblo, Colo.)