Broncos name 2014 Team Captains

By  | 

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. —Denver Broncos Head Coach John Fox on Monday announced the team captains for the 2014 season.
The following players were voted as team captains by their teammates:

QB Peyton Manning (13th season as team captain—3rd as Broncos captain) – Entering his 17th NFL season, the NFL’s only five-time MVP was named a team captain during each of his first three years with Denver and in each of his final 10 seasons with Indianapolis.
WR Demaryius Thomas (1st season as team captain) – The fifth-year player and two-time Pro Bowl selection has produced back-to-back seasons with at least 90 catches, 1,400 receiving yards and 10 receiving touchdowns.

DE DeMarcus Ware (6th season as team captain—1st as Broncos captain) – The seven-time Pro Bowler and four-time All-Pro First Team selection enters his first year with Denver ranked fourth among active players with 117 career sacks.
DT Terrance Knighton (1st season as team captain) – In his first seasons as captain, the second-year Bronco was one of just two defensive players in 2013 to start every game for the club.

Special Teams
S David Bruton (2nd season as team captain) – The sixth-year safety, who has amassed 39 special-teams tackles since he was drafted by the club in 2009, was an alternate for the AFC Pro Bowl squad as a special teamer last year.