Boise State to Remain a Member of the Mountain West Conference

By  | 

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West Conference and Boise State University today jointly announced, effective immediately, Boise State will remain a member of the Mountain West in all sports.

“Without question, conference affiliation has been an odyssey for Boise State, with all the unexpected turns and changes that term suggests,” stated Boise State University president Robert Kustra. “The benefits of geographic footprint, revenue, and national exposure have to be balanced against the changing circumstances of conference realignment. I am confident that our Mountain West membership is the very best decision for Boise State University, our student-athletes and our incredible fan base.”

“We are very pleased today to announce Boise State University’s continuing membership in the Mountain West Conference,” said Commissioner Craig Thompson. “Maintaining the Broncos program as part of the already solid foundation we have established creates a posture of great stability for the Mountain West going forward. It also enhances the Conference’s competitive and marketplace platforms, positioning us favorably in the evolving FBS landscape.”

Accredited members of the media are invited to participate in a teleconference with Commissioner Craig Thompson this afternoon at 1:30 p.m. MT to discuss today’s announcement. This will be Commissioner Thompson’s only availability on the subject today. To access the teleconference, please dial 1-800-705-8289 and state that you are calling for the Mountain West Teleconference.

With the addition of San Jose State University and Utah State University on July 1, 2013, the Mountain West will be comprised of 10 all-sport members and 11 football-playing institutions. Currently, the Mountain West membership includes: the United States Air Force Academy, Boise State University, Colorado State University, Fresno State, University of Hawai‘i (football only), University of Nevada, University of New Mexico, UNLV and University of Wyoming.