Allen, Wristen headline All-Colorado teams

By: CSU-Pueblo Media Relations
By: CSU-Pueblo Media Relations
To join the conversation on this story and others, "like" our KKTV 11 News Facebook page!

PUEBLO, Colo. - CSU-Pueblo's Darius Allen (Jr., Pueblo, Colo.) and head coach John Wristen were named the National Football Foundation Colorado Chapter Defensive Player of the Year and Colorado Coach of the Year, respectively, headlining the ThunderWolves' 16 All-Colorado selections.
Allen, already named the Daktronics Super Region Defensive Player of the Year, the Gene Upshaw Award recipient (Top Division II lineman) and All-American from three different organizations, added to his trophy case following a national-leading 15.5 sack performance this season for the ThunderWolves.
Wristen wrapped up his third straight 11-0 campaign for the ThunderWolves, leading CSU-Pueblo to its third consecutive outright RMAC Championship and top-seed in the NCAA Division II Playoffs. Wristen boasts remarkable 53-15 career record in six seasons with the ThunderWolves, and will enter the 2014 season with the highest career winning percentage of any coach in CSU-Pueblo history.
In total, the Pack added 16 total selections to the All-NFFCC team, including six first-team selections.
Quarterback Chris Bonner (Jr., San Diego, Calif.), wide receiver Paul Browning (Jr., Widefield, Colo.), guard Drew Swartz (Sr., Gilbert, Ariz.), cornerbacks Stephan Dickens (Jr., Aurora, Colo.) and C.J. Roberts (Jr., Boynton Beach, Fla.) and Allen each earned first-team distinction. All six were first-team all-Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference selections, as well.
Garnering second-team honors were wide receiver Darius Millines (Sr., Boynton Beach, Fla.), running back Cameron McDondle (So., Littleton, Colo.), tight end Stehly Reden (So., Valley Center, Calif.), offensive linemen Scotland Coyle (Jr., Longmont, Colo.) and Zack Martinez (So., Redlands, Calif.), linebacker Ben Estica (Jr., Boynton Beach, Fla.), safety Jarrod Lacy (Jr., Boynton Beach, Fla.), defensive linemen Mike Pennel (Sr., Aurora, Colo.) and Tony Campton (So., Littleton, Colo.) and punter Brandon Kliesen (Sr., Pueblo, Colo.) rounded out the Pack's selections to the squad.

KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.

If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.

powered by Disqus
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 236671891 -
Gray Television, Inc.