CC Hockey Players Earn Awards

To join the conversation on this story and others, "like" our KKTV 11 News Facebook page!

Seniors Lee Sweatt (Elburn, IL)?and Matt Zaba (Yorkton,
Sask.)?claimed two major awards apiece on Sunday as the Colorado College
hockey team celebrated its season-ending awards banquet at the Doubletree
Defenseman Sweatt, who currently is playing in the American Hockey
League and was unable to attend the ceremony, was named winner of the
annual Steve Ebert Award, which recognizes a combination of dedication,
desire, ability and sportsmanship, as well as the Paul Markovich Award as
the team’s top student. A two-time Scholar Athlete in the Western
Collegiate Hockey Association, he also was co-winner of the Markovich
Award last season and this campaign was named Most Outstanding Student
Athlete in the entire WCHA.
Goaltender Zaba, meanwhile, took home both the Thayer Tutt Award
as the team’s most valuable player and the Tony Frasca Award as
post-season MVP. He started 33 of CC’s 39 games in 2006-07, posting a
15-13-4 record and three shutouts along with a 2.39 goal-against average
and .917 saves percentage. In three WCHA?first-round playoff games against
Michigan Tech, his GAA was 1.00 and his saves ratio .963. He blanked the
Huskies, 2-0, in Game 2 but the Tigers dropped Games 1 and 3 by scores of
2-1 and 1-0, respectively.
Joining Sweatt and Zaba in Sunday’s spotlight were junior right
wing Jimmy Kilpatrick (New Prague, MN), who raked in the M.B. Hopper Award
as Colorado College’s top scorer with 32 points (7g,25a) for the campaign;
senior defenseman Brandon Straub (Colorado Springs, CO), who received the
Rodman Award, presented annually to the Tiger who demonstrates the highest
degree of sportsmanship and leadership.
Freshman left wing Bill Sweatt (Elburn, IL), who collected 26
points (9g,17a) in just 30 outings to finish third on the team in scoring,
earned the Bob Johnson Award as CC’s rookie of the year. Sophomore
defenseman Jake Gannon (Roselle, IL), who missed only two games all
season, claimed the Dave Peterson Award as most improved player.
The Joni Brandner Memorial Award, presented annually since 2002?to
an individual who has given his or her heart and soul through dedication
to Tiger Hockey, went to co-recipients Scott Ledbetter and Becky McCammon.
Ledbetter and McCammon are Brander’s siblings.
Sunday’s banquet officially brought an end to the ‘06-07 season in
which Colorado College finished fifth in the WCHA?standings and hosted a
first-round playoff series for the 12th time in the last 14?years. Forward
Scott Thauwald (Rochester, NY), who will return for his senior year at CC
next fall, was named team captain for 2007-08.

KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.

If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.

powered by Disqus
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7039537 -
Gray Television, Inc.