WCHA adds Nebraska-Omaha, Bemidji St

By: AP/11 Sports
By: AP/11 Sports

The University of Nebraska at Omaha and Bemidji (Minn.) State will join the Western Collegiate Hockey Association after this season, expanding the league to 12 teams.

UNO had been part of the Central Collegiate Hockey Association and Bemidji State was with the College Hockey America league. The Beavers said the four-team CHA will disband after next season.

UNO entered the Michigan-based CCHA for the 1999-2000 season after the school's efforts to join the WCHA stalled.

The WCHA, which announced the expansion Friday, also includes Alaska-Anchorage, Colorado College, Denver, Michigan Tech, Minnesota, Minnesota-Duluth, Minnesota State-Mankato, North Dakota, St. Cloud State and Wisconsin.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 49298917 - kktv.com/a?a=49298917
Gray Television, Inc.