Thunderwolves Earn Six-Seed

By  | 

The CSU-Pueblo women's basketball team, fresh off its third Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference title in four seasons, received a six-seed in the eight-team NCAA Division II Central Region tournament, which will take place in Mankato, Minn. March 13-16.

CSU-Pueblo (20-8) will take on the third seed, Winona State (19-6) at 3 p.m. (CST) on the campus of Minnesota State-Mankato, the regional host.

The ThunderWolves, who are making their third national tournament appearance in school history, received its highest seed ever for the 2009 national tournament. In its previous two appearances, the ThunderWolves were the eight-seed, which matched them up with the region's top seed each time.

CSU-Pueblo is joined by fellow RMAC schools Nebraska-Kearney (fourth-seed) and Fort Lewis (second-seed) in the Central Region Tournament.

The winner of the regional tournament will advance to the Elite Eight, held at St. Mary's University in San Antonio, Tex.

NCAA Division II Central Region Tournament
at Minnesota State University-Mankato, Mankato, Minn. - All times Central Standard Time

Friday, March 13, 2009 - Region Quarterfinals
1 p.m.: No. 2 Fort Lewis (26-3) vs. No. 7 St. Cloud St. (18-8)
3 p.m.: No. 3 Winona State (19-6) vs. No. 6 Colorado St.-Pueblo (20-8)
6 p.m.: No. 1 Minnesota St.-Mankato (22-2) vs. Augustana (17-9)
8 p.m.: No. 4 Nebraska-Kearney (19-7) vs. Minnesota St.-Moorhead (19-7)

Saturday, March 14, 2009 - Region Semifinals
6 p.m.: Minnesota St.-Mankato/Augustana vs. Nebraska-Kearney/Minnesota St. Moorhead
8 p.m.: Winona St./Colorado St.-Pueblo vs. St. Cloud St./Fort Lewis

Monday, March 16, 2009 - Region Championship
7 p.m.: Region semifinal winners