CSU-Pueblo Women Win RMAC

CSU-Pueblo defeated Colorado Mines Saturday night at the Colorado State Fair Events Center to receive an automatic bid to the NCAA regional tournament for the third time in four years. The ThunderWolves, the fourth seed in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, defeated third seed Colorado Mines, 62-42.

CSU-Pueblo’s Amanda Bartlett led all scorers with 17 points after she netted 7-15 field goals and 3-6 three-point field goals. Rachel Espinoza, the tournament MVP, followed with 16 points, five rebounds, three assists and a steal.

Savannah Afoa, one of two Orediggers named to the RMAC Shootout all-tournament team, led her team with 10 points, six blocks and nine rebounds.

The ThunderWolves (22-8) made 40.9 percent from behind the arc (9-22) and 32.8 percent from the floor (22-67). CSM (19-11) netted 14-50 field goals for 28 percent and 1-7 from long range (14.3 percent).

The 2009 Central Regional Tournament will be held March 13, 14 and 16. The top seed from tomorrow night’s selection call will host the tournament. Each of the eight regional winners will advance to the Elite Eight March 24, 25 and 27 in San Antonio, Texas.