Three AFA Players On Hobey Baker Ballot

By  | 

As college hockey heads into the second half of the season, it’s time for the fans to help determine the winner of the Hobey Baker Award as the game’s top player.

The highly popular fan-voting phase is available by visiting the Hobey Baker website: Click on the Vote for Hobey Baker icon and follow the prompts to make your selection from this year’s outstanding crop of college hockey players.

This first phase of fan balloting will run now through March 8, 2009. Phase two of fan balloting will then begin on March 20 from the list of Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists. The fans’ vote accounts for a full 1 percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year’s award recipient.

Three Falcons are on the initial ballot. Senior Greg Flynn, junior Andrew Volkening and sophomore Jacques Lamoureux are among the players nominated for college hockey’s most prestigious individual honor. All three rank among the best in the nation in numerous statistical categories.

Flynn, a defenseman from Lino Lakes, Minn., is the top scoring defenseman in the nation, averaging 1.20 points per game. In 20 games this season, Flynn has 24 points on four goals and 20 assists. He ranks 20th in the nation in points by all players and is the only defenseman in the top 35 in the nation. Volkening, a goaltender from Genoa, Ill., ranks sixth in goals-against average (1.63) and ninth in the nation in saves percentage (.932). His 15 wins are tops in the nation. He leads Atlantic Hockey in all three categories. Volkening also has three shutouts this season and eight for his career. Lamoureux has spent most of the season as the top scorer in the nation and is currently third in the nation in scoring with 1.50 points per game (17-13-30) and goals (0.85) in 20 games. He leads the nation with 11 power-play goals and five game-winners.

In 2007, former Falcon Eric Ehn became the first service academy player ever named as one of 10 finalists for the Hobey. Ehn was then named to the “Hobey Hat Trick” as one of three finalists for the award. The nation’s second leading scorer in 2006-07, Ehn was invited to the Hobey Baker awards ceremony at the Frozen Four in St. Louis, but North Dakota’s Ryan Duncan won the award.

Award criteria include candidates mimicking the exceptional character traits exhibited by the award’s namesake, Hobey Baker, a World War I flying star better known as America’s greatest amateur athlete in his day. Award candidates must demonstrate strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2009 include:

Top Ten list of candidates: March 19
Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists: April 2
Hobey Baker Award winner: April 10

The 2009 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 10, 2009 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in Washington, D.C. The 29th annual award announcement honoring college hockey’s top player will be televised live during prime time on ESPNU. For more info on the Hobey Baker Award or to access the Hobey logo, please visit