2009 NFL Hall of Fame Finalists

By  | 

CANTON, Ohio (AP) -- Former Fort Wayne Snider and Purdue star Rod Woodson is among the 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Woodson, Bruce Smith, Shannon Sharpe and John Randle are the only first-year eligible players to make the final round this year.

Joining them are two contributors: former commissioner Paul Tagliabue (TAG'-lee-uh-boo) and Buffalo Bills owner Ralph Wilson, as well as two senior nominees selected last August by the Senior Committee: former Atlanta defensive end Claude Humphrey and former Dallas wide receiver Bob Hayes.

Between four and seven candidates will be elected in the balloting that will take place in Tampa Jan. 31, the day before the Super Bowl.