Mountain West Announces 10th Anniversary Team

By  | 

The Mountain West Conference announces its 10th Anniversary Football Team, as selected by a combined panel of media, institutional and conference personnel and on-line fan poll. In order to be eligible for consideration, candidates must have been a first team all-Mountain West selection at least once in their careers.

Anniversary teams will be chosen for each of the 19 conference-sponsored sports during the 2008-09 seasons in celebration of the Mountain West's 10th anniversary.

The MountainWest Sports Network - Mtn. will broadcast a series of special presentations highlighting the 10th anniversary of the Mountain West Conference. The football team announcement debuts at 11 a.m. PT today, with an encore presentation at 7 p.m. PT. The announcement of the volleyball, soccer, and men's and women's cross country 10th anniversary teams will follow at 7:30 p.m. PT. Interviews with coaches and several of the respective honorees will be part of each 30-minute show.

Mountain West Football 10th Anniversary Team
Position Player School Years Played in MWC All-Conference


Quarterback: Alex Smith Utah 2002-04 2004

Running Backs:
Luke Staley BYU 1999-01
DonTrell Moore New Mexico 2002-05

Wide Receivers: David Anderson
Jovon Bouknight Colorado State
Wyoming 2002-05
2002-05 2003

Tight End: Jonny Harline BYU 2004-06

Offensive Line: Ryan Cook New Mexico 2002-05

Offensive Line: Doug Kaufusi Utah 1999-01

Offensive Line: Jordan Gross Utah 1999-02

Offensive Line: Erik Pears Colorado State 2001-04

Offensive Line: Adam Goldberg Wyoming 1999-02

Place Kicker: John Sullivan New Mexico 2004-07


Defensive Line: Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila San Diego State 1999

Defensive Line: Chase Ortiz TCU 2005-07

Defensive Line: Brady Poppinga BYU 2001-04

Defensive Line: Steve Fifita Utah 2002-05

Linebacker: Rob Morris BYU 1999

Linebacker Kirk Morrison San Diego State 2001-04

Linebacker: Beau Bell UNLV 2004-07

Defensive Back: Brian Urlacher New Mexico 1999

Defensive Back: Eric Weddle Utah 2003-06

Defensive Back: Jamaal Brimmer UNLV 2001-04

Defensive Back: Will Demps San Diego State 1999-01

Punter: Matt Payne BYU 2001-04

Punt/Kick Returner: Dexter Wynn Colorado State 2000-03