Hurdle, NL All-Stars Look To End AL Streak

By: AP/11 Sports
By: AP/11 Sports
To join the conversation on this story and others, "like" our KKTV 11 News Facebook page!

The American League tries to maintain its decade-long dominance of the National League when the two sides meet Tuesday night in the 79th All-Star game at Yankee Stadium.

Not counting a tie in 2002, the American League has won the last 10 All-Star games. The NL last won in 1996. Still, thanks to dominance in the 1960s and 70s, the NL owns a 41-35-and-2 overall advantage.

Seattle right fielder Ichiro Suzuki will bat leadoff for the AL. He's followed by Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter, Texas center fielder Josh Hamilton, New York third baseman Alex Rodriguez, Boston left fielder Manny Ramirez, Rangers designated hitter Milton Bradley, Red Sox first baseman Kevin Youkilis, Minnesota catcher Joe Mauer and Boston second baseman Dustin Pedroia.

National League manager Clint Hurdle put Florida shortstop Hanley Ramirez at the top of his order. He's followed by Philadelphia second baseman Chase Utley, Houston first baseman Lance Berkman, St. Louis slugger Albert Pujols at designated hitter, Atlanta third baseman Chipper Jones, Colorado's Matt Holliday in right field, Milwaukee left fielder Ryan Braun, Chicago's Kosuke Fukudome in center and Cubs rookie catcher Geovany Soto.

Cleveland' Cliff Lee is the American League starting pitcher. He will be opposed by Ben Sheets of the Milwaukee Brewers.

KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.

If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.

powered by Disqus
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 25482204 -
Gray Television, Inc.