Holliday & Cook Named To All-Star Team

To join the conversation on this story and others, "like" our KKTV 11 News Facebook page!

A record seven Chicago Cubs are joined by seven Boston Red Sox players on the All-Star Game rosters announced today.

The New York Yankees will be well represented, too, for the July 15th game at their own ballpark. Yankees third baseman Alex Rodriguez was the top vote-getter. He's joined by shortstop Derek Jeter and reliever Mariano Rivera.

Manny Ramirez leads four Red Sox starters including first baseman Kevin Youkilis, second baseman Dustin Pedroia and DH David Ortiz. Ortiz will miss the game because of a wrist injury and AL manager Terry Francona says Milton Bradley of the Rangers will take his place.

Tampa Bay has the best record in baseball but didn't have a single player elected to start. Pitcher Scott Kazmir and catcher Dioner Navarro were named to the squad.

Cubs Alfonso Soriano and Kosuke Fukodome start in the NL outfield with Milwaukee's Ryan Braun who beating out Ken Griffey Junior. Chicago's Geovany Soto is the NL's starting catcher.

Cubs pitchers Kerry Wood and Ryan Dempster and third baseman Aramis Ramirez were chosen by NL players, and pitcher Carlos Zambrano was picked by NL manager Clint Hurdle of Colorado.

Boston outfielder J.D. Drew, catcher Jason Varitek and closer Jonathan Papelbon were picked by a vote of AL players.

Matt Holliday and Aaron Cook from the Rockies were added as well. Holliday and Cook will join manager Clint Hurdle, who will manage the NL team.

KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.

If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.

powered by Disqus
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 23967779 - kktv.com/a?a=23967779
Gray Television, Inc.