Celtics Roll To 17th Championship

By: AP/11 Sports
By: AP/11 Sports
To join the conversation on this story and others, "like" our KKTV 11 News Facebook page!

For the 17th time, the Boston Celtics are NBA champions. The Celtics were explosive on offense and relentless on defense in trouncing the Los Angeles Lakers 131-92 for their first NBA title in 22 years.

Paul Pierce was named MVP of the Finals. He scored 17 points in Game 6 and dished out 10 assists. Pierce averaged 21.8 points for the Finals.

Kevin Garnett led the Celtics with 26 points and 14 rebounds. Ray Allen, the final member of Boston's Big 3, also scored 26, making 7-of-9 three-pointers.

"They were phenomenal all year," said second-year coach Celtics coach Doc Rivers, who posted his first NBA title as player or coach.

Kobe Bryant led the Lakers with 22 points on 7-of-22 shooting.

KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.

If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.

powered by Disqus
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 20204274 - kktv.com/a?a=20204274
Gray Television, Inc.