Football HOF; Zimmerman In, Gradishar Snubbed

By  | 

Gary Zimmerman says he's in shock.

The former Minnesota and Denver tackle has been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, along with Art Monk, Darrell Green, Fred Dean, Andre Tippett and Emmitt Thomas.

Former Broncos linebacker Randy Gradishar in his final year of eligibility did not make it.

Green was one of the NFL's speediest and most skilled cornerbacks for two decades with the Washington Redskins. He was a seven-time Pro Bowler and a member of the 1990s All-Decade team.

The other player in his first year of eligibility, receiver Cris Carter, was not elected.

Monk, another long-time Redskin, finally was chosen in his eighth year of eligibility.

Inductions will take place in Canton, Ohio, on August 2nd.