Air Force 55, San Diego State 23

By  | 

Jim Ollis, Ty Paffett and Chad Hall each eclipsed 100 yards rushing and combined for seven touchdowns to lead Air Force over San Diego State 55-23 on Saturday.

Air Force (9-3, 6-2, Mountain West Conference) ran for a season-high 569 yards, and Ollis and Paffett each set career highs for yards rushing.

San Diego State (4-6, 3-3) planned to stop Hall, the leading rusher in the conference, but had to deal with Ollis and Paffett in the first half.

Ollis, a converted quarterback, ran for 163 yards on 15 carries. He opened the Air Force scoring with a 54-yard run in the first and added another 34-yard touchdown to start the third quarter.

Paffett, a converted safety, scored a touchdown in every quarter except the fourth. He scored on a 4-yard run in the first quarter, added a 73-yarder midway through the second and had another 4-yard touchdown midway through the third. He finished with 105 yards on just seven carries.

Hall had just 25 yards rushing at halftime, but finished with 151 yards and two touchdowns.

The Aztecs dominated time of possession in the first half, keeping the ball for nearly eight minutes longer than Air Force, but two costly first-quarter turnovers - a fumble by running back Brandon Sullivan and an interception thrown by quarterback Kevin O'Connell - turned into Paffett's 4-yard touchdown and Ollis' 54-yard score.

The Aztecs opened the scoring when O'Connell took a keeper for a 1-yard touchdown to cap an 11-play drive.

The Falcons countered with three straight touchdown runs from Ollis, Paffett and Hall to build a two-touchdown lead.

Paffett's 73-yard score, Air Force's longest play from scrimmage this season, put the Falcons up by 18 points before Atiyyah Henderson scored from the 6 to make it 28-17 at halftime.

O'Connell was 27-for-43 for 384 yards with a touchdown and an interception. Chaz Schilens had six catches for 188 yards.

The teams combined for 1,176 yards of total offense.

The win gave the Falcons their first undefeated home season since 1998 and the school's most wins since 2000.