Strike Two! First Tulo; Now Hurdle Passed Over

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press
To join the conversation on this story and others, "like" our KKTV 11 News Facebook page!

A couple of former backup catchers are baseball's managers of the year. Cleveland's Eric Wedge is the American League recipient, with the National League honor going to Arizona's Bob Melvin.

Wedge is the first Indians skipper to capture the postseason award. And he was a runaway winner, receiving 19 of 28 first-place votes from the baseball writers after his club tied Boston for the best record in baseball. The Red Sox beat his Indians in a seven-game AL championship series. Wedge, who guided the Indians to a 96-and-66 record and their first playoff appearance since 2001, finished ahead of the Angels' Mike Scioscia (SOH'-shuh) and the Yankees' Joe Torre.

Melvin won the NL prize for leading the young Arizona Diamondbacks to the top mark in the league. He was chosen first on 19 of 30 ballots to easily outdistance Charlie Manuel of the Phillies and the Rockies' Clint Hurdle.

Melvin led a team that sometimes started six rookies to a 90-and-72 finish.

KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.

If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.

powered by Disqus
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 11293171 -
Gray Television, Inc.