Braun Edges Tulowitzki For Rookie Of The Year

By  | 

Ryan Braun won the National League Rookie of the Year award in one of the closest votes, while Dustin Pedroia ran away with the American League honor today.

Braun -- Milwaukee's slugging third baseman -- edged Colorado shortstop Troy Tulowitzki by two points in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Pedroia, the Boston second baseman with the big swing, easily topped Tampa Bay outfielder Delmon Young.

Voting was done before Pedroia helped lead the Red Sox to the World Series title.