ENGLEWOOD, Colo. (AP) -- The NFL's officiating chief has cleared Broncos receiver Wes Welker of any wrongdoing for his hit that knocked Patriots cornerback Aqib Talib out of Sunday's AFC Championship.
"It was a legal hit," Vice President of Officiating Dean Blandino said on the NFL Network Wednesday night.
On Monday, New England coach Bill Belichick blasted Welker for the hit, calling it "one of the worst plays" he'd seen in nearly four decades of coaching.
There will be no discipline for Welker; Blandino said there was simply no infraction of the rules.
Talib left the game with a knee injury and didn't return in Denver's 26-16 win that sent the top-seeded Broncos to the Super Bowl.
KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.
If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.powered by Disqus
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.