Broncos release first 2009 depth chart

The Broncos have released their first depth chart of the year and there are a few surprises.

The first surprise comes at wide reciever where there are three starters and Brandon Marshall isn't one of them. Marshall has been hurt so that could be a reason why, but Brian Dawkins who is also sitting out after having surgery is listed as the starting free safety.

Another surprise comes at the outside linebacker position where Marion Haggans has been listed as a starter. Haggan is a 7th year linebacker out of Mississippi State.

Rookie Knowshon Moreno who missed the entire first week of camp is listed as the fourth string running back behind starter Correll Buckhalter, LaMont Jordan and Peyton Hillis.

Kyle Orton is the starting quarterback followed by Chris Simms and Tom Brandstater. The three starting wide recievers are Eddie Royal, Brandon Stokley and Jabar Gaffney.

On the defensive side of the ball the biggest question mark has been the line. Anchoring the three spots up front will be Ryan McBean and Kenny Peterson at the defensive end positions and Ronald Fields playing nose tackle. Fields will be back up by the impressive rookie Chris Baker.

The linebackers are anchored by Haggan and Elvis Dumervil on the outside and Andra Davis and D.J. Williams on the inside.

The secondary looks to be the strongest area on the field with Dawkins starting alongside Ronaldo Hill who will play strong safety. The two cornerbacks are of Champ Bailey and Andre' Goodman.

The first game is Friday night in San Francisco.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 52906132 -
Gray Television, Inc.