New 'Seven Wonders Of The World' Announced

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press
To join the conversation on this story and others, "like" our KKTV 11 News Facebook page!

The Great Pyramids of Giza have company again as one of the wonders of the world.

The results of a global poll to choose seven new wonders were announced Saturday in Lisbon, Portugal.

The Great Wall of China, Rome's Colosseum and India's Taj Mahal are among the architectural marvels named, along with Peru's Machu Picchu, Brazil's Statue of Christ Redeemer, Jordan's Petra and Mexico's Chichen Itza.

100 million people around the world voted by Internet and phone message.

The Great Pyramids of Giza are the only surviving structures from the original seven wonders of the ancient world. They retain their status in addition to the new seven. Egyptian officials said it was a disgrace they had to compete.

The old seven wonders were the Great Pyramids of Giza, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, the Statue to Zeus at Olympia, the Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes and the Lighthouse of Alexandria.

KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.

If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.

powered by Disqus
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8387532 -
Gray Television, Inc.