Alcohol Bill

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

People convicted of giving alcohol to minors would lose their drivers' licenses for six months under a bill moving through the Colorado Legislature.

Lawmakers say the crackdown on underage drinking is needed because 65 percent of teens get alcohol from someone who purchased it legally.

The new law would also apply to parents who throw keg parties for their children's friends.

Parents are legally allowed to give their own children alcohol but not to anyone else's.

Another bill at the Capitol would increase the penalties for giving alcohol to minors to up to 18 months in jail and a fine of between 500 dollars and five thousand dollars, up from up to 12 months behind bars and a fine of between 250 dollars and a thousand dollars.


KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 1490952 - kktv.com/a?a=1490952