Nebraska lawmakers have given final approval to adding a 30-day age limit to the state's safe-haven law.
The original safe-haven law was intended to prevent newborns from being dumped in trash bins or worse. Every state has such a law, but Nebraska's is the only one that lacks an age limit.
Since July, 35 children have been abandoned at state hospitals -- many of them preteens or teenagers as old as 17.
Gov. Dave Heineman was expected to sign the bill Friday afternoon. If he does, the age limit will go into effect at 12:01 a.m. Saturday and Nebraska will join 13 other states with a 30-day age cap.
Five of the abandoned children have been from other states, including from as far away as Florida and Michigan.
KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.
If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.powered by Disqus
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.