A 30-day age limit in the Nebraska safe-haven law appears headed for final approval.
The state Legislature voted 41-6 Wednesday to give second-round approval to the limit. A final vote is expected on Friday and then the bill will go to Gov. Dave Heineman. He has said he would support a 30-day age limit.
Every state has a safe-haven law meant to protect newborns from being dumped in trash bins and worse, but Nebraska's is the only one that lacks an age limit.
Most of the 35 children dropped off at Nebraska hospitals since the law took effect in July have been preteens or teenagers as old as 17.
KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.
If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.powered by Disqus
Posted: 08/06/2013 - Even if you don't plan to workout on your vacation, you may be surprised at the calories you're burning without even trying!
Updated: 06/18/2013 - We did a quick helicopter tour of the Black Forest burn area. Someone asked why the video looks shaky.
Updated: 05/20/2013 - Two weekends left to catch one great show!
Updated: 05/14/2013 - I'm still focused on meeting my goal of doing a pull-up. And I'm almost there! But I'm always getting this question: