New City Council Members Sworn In

To join the conversation on this story and others, "like" our KKTV 11 News Facebook page!

It's a new day in government for the city of Colorado Springs as new members of City Council were sworn in Tuesday.

All but one of the city council members sworn in Tuesday are new to the job but they all are looking forward to getting right to work. Val Snider, Merv Bennett, Tim Leigh, Brandy Williams, Lisa Czelatdko and Angela Dougan began their brand new jobs today.

Jan Martin is the only returning council member Martin says she is looking forward to sharing her experience and making the transition to a strong mayor. This is the first ever Colorado Springs City Council under the new strong mayor system.

The new city council held their first meeting Tuesday. Scott Hente has been voted president and Jan Martin has been voted president pro-tem.

KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.

If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.

powered by Disqus
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 120219054 -
Gray Television, Inc.