KKTV 11 News Named Station of the Year

KKTV 11 News took home several awards at this year

The KKTV 11 News team at the Colorado Broadcaster's Association Awards.

To join the conversation on this story and others, "like" our KKTV 11 News Facebook page!

KKTV 11 News took home several awards at this year's Colorado Broadcaster's Association Awards Banquet, held on Saturday, March 9, including Station of the Year for a non-metro market.

The station also took home first-place awards for breaking news coverage, anchor teams, sportscasters, weathercasters and specialty reporters. In more than one category, KKTV 11 News took home both the first and second place awards.

Total awards won by KKTV newscasts include:

-Best Breaking News Coverage - "The Night Homes Burned in the Waldo Canyon Fire”
-Best Breaking News Coverage - second place for “130 Hours of Continuous Coverage of the Waldo Canyon Fire”
-Best News Anchor or Team - John Harding and Stacia Naquin
-Best News Anchor or Team - second place for Dianne Derby and Don Ward
-Best Sportscaster - Sam Farnsworth
-Best Weathercaster- Brian Bledsoe
-Best Specialty Reporter - Kristin Haubrich
-Best Specialty Reporter - second place for Stacia Naquin, health reporting
-Best Use of New Media for our work online during the Waldo Canyon Fire

KKTV 11 News also won Certificates of Merit for:
-Best Documentary “Trial by Fire”
-Best Investigative Reporting “A Van for Jesse” by Betty Sexton
-Best Station Website - KKTV.com

In addition, KKTV won first place awards for:
- Best Station Promotion/Marketing Campaign- "Disruptive Weather"
- Best Sales Campaign for Advertiser - "Chapel Hills Mall"

... and second place 'Certificate of Merit' awards for:
- Best Public Service Announcement- "Colorado Springs Utilities"
- Best Community Service Campaign- "Stuff the Bus"
- Best Station Promotion/Marketing Campaign- "Severe Weather"
- Best Station Promo- "KKTV Leads National Debate"

KKTV firmly believes in freedom of speech for all and we are happy to provide this forum for the community to share opinions and facts. We ask that commenters keep it clean, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments left here do not necessarily represent the viewpoint of KKTV 11 News.

If you believe that any of the comments on our site are inappropriate or offensive, please tell us by clicking “Report Abuse” and answering the questions that follow. We will review any reported comments promptly.

powered by Disqus
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 196937511 - kktv.com/a?a=196937511
Gray Television, Inc.