El Paso County Commissioners Approve Ballot Question Over Sheriff Term Limits

The El Paso County commissioners unanimously approved a ballot question that would reduce the number of consecutive terms a individual can hold as sheriff.

It will now be up to voters this November.

Currently, individuals elected as sheriff can serve three consecutive four-year terms. If voters approve the ballot question, future sheriffs will be limited to serve two consecutive four-year terms.

The county released a statement Thursday after the commissioners meeting.

El Paso County said that a similar question to reduce the number of terms the 4th Judicial district attorney can serve was withdrawn from consideration, and will not be on the November ballot. This is because Teller County commissioners rejected the question for the upcoming election, and the DA serves both counties. The DA currently serves three consecutive four-year terms.