Governor Announces Release of $635,000 for Blizzard Help

By  | 

Some southeastern Colorado counties still struggling because of last month's blizzard will get some financial help from the state.

Governor Ritter is announcing the release of $635,000 worth of state aid to help defray the costs of dealing with the storm.

Commissioners from eight counties requested the help to cover snow-removal costs, along with equipment and associated expenses.

The funds announced Tuesday come from the Energy and Mineral Impact Assistance Program.

The state freed up about $2,000,000 previously when former Governor Owens declared two separate States of Emergency late last month.

Baca County will get $100,000;

Bent County will receive $50,000;

Crowley County will receive $50,000;

Huerfano County will get $60,000;

Kiowa County will receive $50,000;

Las Animas County will get $100,000;

Otero County will receive $100,000;

and Prowers County will receive $125,000.