Teen Drivers

State lawmakers are looking at more measures to get tough on teen drivers this year.

One would require that teens that get in trouble for traffic offenses attend go to driving school.

Another would make drivers 18 and under subject to fines and penalties for not buckling up.

First time offenders would have to pay a $50 fine and have to perform between 8 and 24 hours of community service.

The fine would double for second time offenders, who would have to perform up to a week's worth of community service.

The bills (House Bill 1108 and 1162) are scheduled to be heard Tuesday by the Senate Transportation Committee.


KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 2498181 - kktv.com/a?a=2498181