The Votes Are In! - My MWC Preseason Ballot (JESSE KURTZ)

By: Jesse Kurtz
By: Jesse Kurtz

I have picked Air Force to finish second in the Mountain West this season and have named three Falcons to my all-conference team.

     For a fourth straight year, I was honored when the Mountain West Conference asked me to vote in the Preseason Poll and submit my choices for the preseason All-Conference team.  The polls consist of 30 ballots from media around the country.  Below is how I voted in this years poll.

Preseason Poll
1. TCU
2. Air Force
3. Utah
4. BYU
5. Wyoming
6. Colorado State
7. New Mexico

     I think TCU is a runway favorite to win the conferece.  They are loaded once again.  As I have said in the past, I am a BIG fan of Senior quarterbacks... That's exactly what the Horned Frogs have in Andy Dalton (he started as a freshman at Falcon Stadium in 2007.)  Dalton is on track to go down as one of the most successful QB's in TCU history.  Pretty remarkable given the fact that Sammy Baugh is a former TCU QB.  I do think this is the year Air Force makes a move to the top.  An experienced quarterback and a solid running game (Tew and Clark) could make for a high-octane offense.  I do have concerns with the offensive line being sooo inexperienced.  The defense has enough playmakers to keep opponents on their toes, especially in the secondary.  Reggie Rembert and Anthony Wright make up the best tandem in the MWC.

Preseason All-MWC

WR – Vincent Brown (San Diego State)
WR – Jimmy Young (TCU)
OL – Matt Reynolds (BYU)
OL – Marcus Cannon (TCU)
OL –  Zane Taylor (Utah)
OL – Caleb Schlauderaff (Utah)
OL – Jake Kirkpatrick (TCU.)
TE – Alston Umuolo (San Diego State)
QB – Andy Dalton (TCU)
RB – Eddie Wide (Utah)
RB – Jared Tew (Air Force)

DL – Wayne Daniels (TCU)
DL – Dave Kruger (Utah)
DL – Cory Grant (TCU)
LB – Tank Carder (TCU)
LB – Mychal Sisson (Colorado State)
LB – Carmen Messina (New Mexico)
LB – Brian Hendricks (Wyoming)
DB – Anthony Wright Jr. (Air Force)
DB – Reggie Rembert (Air Force)
DB – Brandon Burton (Utah)
DB – Andrew Rich (BYU)

P – Brian Stahovich (San Diego State)
K – Ross Evans (TCU)
KR – Jeremy Kerley (TCU)

Offensive Player of the Year: QB Andy Dalton (TCU)
Defensive Player of the Year: LB Tank Carder (TCU)
Special Teams Player of the Year: KR Jeremy Kerley (TCU)

Read More Blogs

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability
Gray Television, Inc.