AFA Snubbed By All-Conference Panel

By: Jesse Kurtz
By: Jesse Kurtz

Anthony Wright has the biggest reason to gripe. He was one of the biggest reasons the AFA defense was so good in 2009.


Air Force was disrespected on Tuesday afternoon.

Only one Falcon (Reggie Rembert) was named first-team All-Mountain West by the 27-person selection panel made up of conference coaches and media members.  Air Force deserved much better.  Specifically on defense, which was backbone of the team.  Without its stellar play, the Falcons may not have been bowl eligible.  Against San Diego State, the defense outscored the offense, 14-0.  That's just one example of how good this defense played in 2009.

Individually, Anthony Wright has plenty of reasons to be upset.   His four interceptions rank second in the Mountain West.  Two of those INT's he took back for a touchdown. 

In all, I voted five falcons to the first-team all Mountain West.  Anthony Wright, Chris Thomas, Ben Garland, Nick Charles and Erik Soderberg.  I also voted three others, Peter Lusk, Reggie Rembert and Jared Tew to the second-team all MWC.

Here is how I voted at each position:


      Andy Dalton - TCU 
Running Back
     Harvey Unga - BYU
     Eddie Wide - Utah
Wide Receiver
     DeMarco Sampson - San Diego State
     David Reed - Utah
Tight End
     Dennis Pitta - BYU'
Offensive Line
     Nick Charles - Air Force
     Erik Cook - New Mexico
     Marcus Cannon - TCU
     Marshall Newhouse - TCU
     Zane Beadles - Utah
     Erik Soderberg - Air Force
      Jeremy Kerley - TCU
Defensive Line
     Ben Garland - Air Force
     Jan Jorgensen - BYU
     Jerry Hughes - TCU
     Koa Misi - Utah
     Carmen Messina - New Mexico
     Daryl Washington - TCU
     Mychal Sisson - Colorado State
Defensive Back
     Chris Thomas - Air Force
     Anthony Wright - Air Force
     Brian Logan - BYU
     Robert Johnson - Utah
     Austin McCoy - Wyoming
Offensive Player of the Year 
     Andy Dalton (QB) - TCU
Defensive Player of the Year
     Jerry Hughes (DL) - TCU
Special Teams Player of the Year
     Jeremy Kerley (KR/PR) - TCU
Freshman of the Year
     Austyn Carta-Samuels - Wyoming
Coach of the Year
     Gary Patterson, TCU
My second-team AFA Votes
     Jared Tew (Fullback)
     Peter Lusk (Off. Lineman)
     Reggie Rembert (Cornerback)
Read More Blogs

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
KKTV 520 E. Colorado Colorado Springs, CO 80903 Office: (719) 634-2844 Fax: (719) 632-0808 News Fax: (719) 634-3741
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability
Gray Television, Inc.